ERAS Support Services for Applicants


ERAS® Eligibility

To participate in ERAS, you must have a USMLE/ECFMG Identification Number. You may purchase a residency Token and apply to programs before you complete the examinations required for ECFMG Certification.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Individual programs set their own eligibility criteria and application deadlines. It is up to applicants to research their programs of interest prior to applying.

NRMP® (The Match) Eligibility

To participate in the Match, NRMP requires that the passing results of all exams required for ECFMG Certification (USMLE Step 1, Step 2 CK, and Step 2 CS*) are available by the NRMP Rank Order List Certification deadline. To maximize the chances that the results of these exams will be available in time to participate, you should be familiar with the typical registration and score reporting turnaround times for the required examinations. You can find information on registration turnaround times in the ECFMG Information Booklet. For score reporting turnaround times, refer to the USMLE Bulletin of Information.

*IMPORTANT NOTE FOR 2022 MATCH: In response to the suspension and subsequent discontinuation of the USMLE Step 2 CS exam by the USMLE program, ECFMG|FAIMER has identified Pathways that will allow qualified IMGs who have not passed Step 2 CS to meet the clinical and communication skills requirements for ECFMG Certification. For IMGs who apply for and satisfy all requirements for a Pathway and have passing performances on USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK that are valid for ECFMG Certification, ECFMG will verify to the NRMP that they have met the examination requirements for ECFMG Certification. Please review the Requirements for ECFMG Certification for 2022 Match for detailed information.

Please note that the number of applicants seeking to complete the required exams may exceed the spaces available in time for all applicants to meet deadlines imposed by NRMP and/or GME programs.

U.S. State Medical Licensure Requirements

In the United States, a license to practice medicine is granted by individual state medical licensing authorities. Each state sets its own requirements for licensure. Depending on the state, a training or restricted license may be required to participate in programs of graduate medical education. Participants in graduate medical education programs may also be required to obtain an unrestricted medical license by a certain point in their training in order to progress in the program.

Some states have established additional criteria with respect to international medical schools for the purpose of eligibility for licensure. When you plan to apply to residency programs, consult the state’s medical licensing board to determine if graduates of your medical school are eligible for licensure in that state.

Additionally, if you were certified by ECFMG based on former medical science exams (such as the Visa Qualifying Examination [VQE] or the Foreign Medical Graduate Examination in the Medical Sciences [FMGEMS]), you should be aware that these exams may not be acceptable for the purpose of eligibility for a training license. Of the states that require a training license for participants in graduate medical education programs, most do not accept these exams for this purpose.

ECFMG does not create or control the medical licensure requirements for any jurisdiction and does not create or control the eligibility requirements for any graduate medical education program. Additionally, ERAS does not preclude any students/graduates from participating in ERAS, based on their eligibility for licensure. Before applying to residency programs in a given state, it is your responsibility to become familiar with that state’s licensure requirements and to ensure that you meet any licensure requirements to enter and complete residency training in that state.

For a directory of U.S. state medical licensing authorities, visit the Federation of State Medical Boards website.

Back to top